Forum rules - please read before posting.

Always reload scene when loading a save file? – what does it do?

Hi,

I have a quick question about the Settings Manager option "Always reload scene when loading a save file?" (under Scene loading).

I turned it on, and when I saved and loaded within the same scene:

  • Timelines with a Remember Timeline component were reset to the start.
  • A Canvas (Scene Space - Camera) that stays visible throughout the scene (it doesn't do anything, it just stays on screen) disappeared.

I originally enabled it because I thought it was needed for the OnLoad cutscene to run, but it turned out OnLoad runs regardless of this option.

What exactly does this option do, and when should it be used?

Thanks so much for your help!

AC 1.86.7
Unity 6000.3.27f2

Comments

  • It only makes a difference when loading a file in which the game begins from the same scene you're already in - as in your test case above.

    When this occurs, the scene is effectively unloaded and then re-opened, before the regular AC loading process of applying Remember component data, and running OnLoad events, begins.

    The key difference is that any object/property whose state is not determined by a Remember component gets reset to default. Without it, any e.g. animation occurring before the load that has no Remember component will continue afterwards.

    For the Timeline and Canvas behaviour: I'll need more details about how they're set up and behaving to determine if there's an issue there. Is the Canvas part of the Menu Manager, and is it disappearing because its Render Camera field is becoming unset?

Sign In or Register to comment.

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Welcome to the official forum for Adventure Creator.